“For those who have an intense urge for Spirit and Wisdom,
it sits near them, waiting.”
― The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali

Kundalini Yoga

A Brief History

Kundalini yoga is the yoga of awareness. Breath, mantra, mudras, physical postures and meditation are all used to assist in the kundalini rising, which increases awareness and connection within our body to begin to remember our true identity – “sat nam”.

Kundalini works through a variety of steps and it is useful to understand the intermingling forces within us. Prana, the life force, mixes with apana, the elimination force, at the navel center.  This mixture forms a pressure which brings the kundalini up through the chakras igniting the kundalini rising.

In the Piscean age, we embraced the security and structure of hierarchy.  That model is outdated in the Aquarian Age, which shifts to a model of accepting our wholeness and embraces unified connectedness.  Kundalini Yoga provides tools for us to feel into the unknown and stretch our limits from the known comforts to expand more broadly into the possibilities of what we are here to do, create and transform. Often the postures, mudras and mantras push our boundaries and remind us we are more capable than we may have experienced if not practicing physical and mental exercises through Kundalini.

According to Patanjali “Yoga chitta vritti nirodha” – yoga is the quieting of the fluctuations of the mind. Ultimately, when we quiet the mind, we are able to connect to our infinite divine source with yoga as a path to achieve this reconnection.

¹ The Aquarian Teacher KRI International Teacher Training.  

By choosing yoga as a practice, you are reawakening the gut brain and heart brain, areas often overlooked because of a focus on the head brain in today’s society.  The cultivation of communication between all 3 brains invites a union that allows the authenticity of your divine self to be remembered and re-emerge.